Down Under

The Moonee Ponds public library is just past Queen’s Park, right before you reach the shopping on Puckle. I’m sure you’ll be delighted to know that Puckle Street has been around for ages; it was apparently named after Mr. Puckle the merchant, not the minister, but I digress. I had no reason whatsoever to go into the library, except that buildings full of books always make me feel at home.

The stack of books by my bed has at least a dozen unread titles. Most of them came with the rest of our household goods in a large, steel container. I knew from a previous visit that books were very expensive down under, so I packed up all the ones I hadn’t read and some I had. Others have since been sent to me by family members (such as my sister) and friends who have no idea when they hit…

View original post 427 more words

