I suspect my population numbers are quite out-of-date since I wrote this back in 2009, but the rest of the piece is probably close enough to call it non-fiction.

Down Under

I have seen only a tiny portion of this immense continent–  a small part of Victoria, a stretch of Queensland from Cairns north to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree rainforest, a larger part of Tasmania.  During the last two weeks I have added an area of the northwest to my geographic portfolio– the Kimberley.

It is as large as Germany with a permanent population of about 45,000.  Paved highways are the exception rather than the rule, so when you travel on one you see virtually everyone moving along the same direction in the outback.  The region was featured in the film “Australia,” which took some hits for its script and direction but not for its scenery.  The Kimberley is spectacular.   At this time of year, it is also very hot.  The day before my departure from the region, I woke in the hottest place in Australia–  Fitzroy…

View original post 733 more words

